Smile! Altered Miniature Canvas for Home or Office Decor

Mini Canvas with red and yellow tulips and the sentiment, Smile.

Mini Canvas with red and yellow tulips and the sentiment, Smile.

Sometimes you see the perfect paper and know exactly what you want to do with it.  That was the case with this project.

I found the sheet of blue polka dot paper from a stack of Recollections, Mosaic Memories, paper and just fell in love.  It might be September now, but this paper just says spring and bright colors.

Of course, I had a new set of Penny Black floral stamps to go along with it.  I just love the two tulips and how they stand boldly against such a bold background.  I decided to use my red and yellow Copic Markers to create an even stronger contrast and really make it seem like these lovely flowers were standing against a bright blue sky.

Canvas1b

After I added the flowers and had shaded the corners a bit with Tim Holtz Broken China distress paint, I had to add some extra texture.  Liquitex Modeling Paste came in handy for that.  I used a small swirly stencil and just a small portion of it to imitate the feel of soft white billowy clouds.

To finish it, I realized it needed a sentiment.  I recently got this set of stamps from Hampton Art from Michael’s.  It had the sentiment, Smile!  Which I thought was perfect because everytime I look at this canvas, I smile.  I stamped it onto white cardstock and then covered it with Wink of Stella glitter to add that extra shimmer.

Canvas1c

Overall I’m very happy with how this little canvas turned out.

Canvas1e

You can watch the entire process of how it was made here:

I hope you enjoyed!

Happy crafting! :)

~Mrs. Kristen Creations

Leave a Reply

